2nd Place Award in the “Cell Phone Only” category. Photo by Chanda Williams, United States.

Cell Phone Only – Award Gallery

We are proud to share with you the award-winning photographs from our 8th international competition celebrating the very best in documentary family photography.

Award winners were chosen during the final round of judging recorded live from our three judges homes and subsequently streamed online around the world on October 14-15, 2020. Viewers had the opportunity to watch the unfiltered discussions and constructive feedback as winners were collectively chosen by esteemed judges Jide Alakija (United States), Lawrence Jackson (United States) and Leslie Kershaw (United States).

These award-winning photographs have been through two rounds of critical review and selection. Congratulations to winners!

Top 10 awarded photographs by Lisa Underwood, Chanda Williams, Kelly Vanderbeek, Susan Gibbs, Casey Mccauley, Felicia Bohm, Emily Neville Fisher, C. Roese Ramp and Lonav Bharali.

Honorable Mention photographs by Casey Mccauley and Diana Hagues.

(click or tap an image to view award details)

Our preliminary round guest judges evaluated every single submission we received and selected forty or less of their favourite photographs per category to move forward to the live-judging round as finalists. Our deepest thanks to talented photographers Jacque Jackson (United States), Lafayette Hicks (United States) and Sarah Jane Rabideau (Canada) for their hours of dedication during this process. Congratulations to these photographers who were nominated as finalists for consideration during the final round of live judging.

Finalist photographs by Abi M, Adrienne Harvey, Aimee Hobbs, Amanda Griffin, Angie Gray, Ashley Waters, Casey Mccauley, Celina Bailey, Chetan Sharma, Claire Bischoff, Diana Jou, Elisa Cesca, Emma Collins, Erin Ingraffia, Fatima Tuj Johora, Felicia Chang, Felicia Chang, Giovanna Guiotti, Ina Esch, Inga Pytka-Sobutka, Janet Boyko, Jennifer Vaughan, Jo De Magneval, Julia Chang-Lomonico, Justine Boulin, Kamila Pawlowska, Katie Torres, Laura Mcdonald, Lauren Gayeski, Lisa Underwood, Lori Gospodyn, Maki Oshiro, Mara Trilla, Maria Alekseeva, Maria Fernanda Solis, Marie Eve Boivin, Md. Rakibuddaula, Mo Qi, Nynke De Jong, Olivia Tomkins, Pedro Cruz, Pier Luigi Dodi, Rachel Rimell, Sherry Tong, Shibasish Saha, Susannah Stevens, Xu Xigao, Yan Liu and Yee Tan Ho.

(click or tap image collage to a view larger )

Watch the judging for this category

Stream on iOS, Android, Apple TV, Roku, and Chromecast.

This award cycle was made possible with the support of the following sponsors:

The Documentary Family Awards is an international competition in search of the insightful and meaningful ways that documentary photographers explore the interpretation of family.