10th Place Award in the “Travel” category. Photo by Amy Dangerfield, United States.

Travel – Award Gallery

We are proud to share with you the award-winning photographs from our 7th international competition celebrating the very best in documentary family photography.

Award winners were chosen during the final round of live-judging filmed in Denver (USA), Hawaii (USA) and Victoria (Canada) and subsequently streamed online around the world on May 11-12, 2020. Viewers had the opportunity to watch the unfiltered discussions and constructive feedback as winners were collectively chosen by esteemed judges Kirsten Lewis Bethamn (United States), Jenna Shouldice (Canada) and Nancy Borowick (United States).

These award-winning photographs have been through two rounds of critical review and selection. Congratulations to the winners!

Top 10 awarded photographs by Björn Nilsson, Mea Baráth, Emily Fisher, Lisa Hu Chen, Ina Esch, Aleksandra Gajdeczka, Elisse Weinert, Johanna King, Elisse Weinert, Amy Dangerfield.

Honorable Mention photographs by Chanda Williams, Lauren Spencer Gayeski and Lisa Hu Chen.

(click or tap an image to view award details)

Our preliminary round guest judges evaluated every single submission we received and selected thirty or less of their favourite photographs per category to move forward to the live-judging round as finalists. Our deepest thanks to talented photographers Aniya Legnaro (Barbados), Rocio Vega (Spain) and Taras Bychko (Ukraine) for their hours of dedication during this process. Congratulations to these photographers who were nominated as finalists for consideration during the final round of live judging.

Finalist photographs by Adriëlle De Voogd, Agueda Sanfiz, Amy Dangerfield, Angela Tappen, Ben Heasman, Bianca Klein, C. Roese Ramp, Cara Bettcher, Crystal Gonsalves, Davina Palik, Diana Hagues, Elisa Cesca, Elisse Weinert, Emilie Marchandise, Emma Collins, Estelle Lefevre, Gloria Salgado Gispert, Hannah Terry, Hezy Holzman, Holly Hicks, Ildikó Harmat-Szabó, Ina Esch, Ivan Mityushev, Jason Vinson, Jennifer Vaughan, Johanna King, Julia Rose-Greim, Julie Row, Katie Langmuir, Kristina Lindfors, Lauren Spencer Gayeski, Leslie Truesdell, Magdalena Mosler, Margaret Albaugh, Marko Risovic, Mea Baráth, Melanie Gordon, Mieke Haesaert, Nahum E. Holzman, Olga Leise, Orsolya Boncser, Pedro Vilela, Rachel French, Sandra Stokmans, Shannon Christy, Sherry Tong, Sonja Stich, Sophie Callewaert, Stacey Cavalier, Tasha Ford, Tonya Mancuso and Wendy Stone.

(click or tap image collage to a view larger )

Watch the judging for this category

Stream on iOS, Android, Apple TV, Roku, and Chromecast.

This award cycle was made possible with the support of the following sponsors:

The Documentary Family Awards is an international competition in search of the insightful and meaningful ways that documentary photographers explore the interpretation of family.